With Him

Called in whispers or out loud
At his feet to him I bowed
Me and him, never was a crowd
In his glory to be forever wowed
Then I’m proud, then charged and set
Eager to beget and get
Noble things I can’t regret
But with him not settling yet

Ironed shirt and borrowed shoes
Well-done sermons that amuse
Hungry crowds to them diffuse
What the Jews chose to refuse
But mine eyes do hardly see
That I’m now an absentee
While am busy like the bee
My room with him is always free

So then while this earth I build
Part of me stays unfulfilled
What I teach is not instilled
But I hope I’ll get all thrilled
Then my shepherd’s voice I hear
‘Stay with me don’t dissappear
I will send you far and near
But the better place is here

With him is first and then for him
He wants to fill me to the brim
I can’t give light if I am dim
With him I gym and look like him
With him these snares of steel go weak
And my strength can never leak
With him I’m headed to the peak
And to work for him I’ll go with him

Inspired by:
Rwamba Murani

Leave a Reply

